A Unicorn In A World Of Donkeys: Book Review

A couple of weeks ago I was asked if I wanted to review a brand new shiny book called A Unicorn In A World Of Donkeys by Mia Michaels. It has only just been released, so I felt very lucky to get my hands on a copy before it was available to buy. I was immediately drawn to this book after reading the description: An empowerment manifesto for creatives, misfits, innovators, and disruptors.  This book is for me! In fact, I read it in just two days as I found this to be so inspirational and fell in love with the overall message – just be yourself.

What is a unicorn? In the book, Mia explains that a unicorn is someone who doesn’t fit in with the mainstream. They don’t try to look like other people or compare themselves with others and they can’t help but stand out in their originality. Unicorns tend to be creative, sensitive and most often introverted. (Yes, yes and yes).

So what is a donkey? A donkey is someone who tries to blend in, feeling uncomfortable veering too far from the mainstream. They follow trends instead of setting them and believe conformity is a good thing. Basically, they want to live a predictable, conventional and safe life.

Wow. Already I was hooked. On the donkey-unicorn spectrum I would place myself more towards the quietly creative unicorn end. If you asked me what I was during my teenage years, I would say 100% unicorn – I had bright colourful hair, dressed as far away from mainstream trends as possible, had multiple piercings, listened to a lot of punk music, dropped out of college to persue a career in drinking and rebelled against conformity. Fast-forward to now, I’m still a punk girl at heart, except I’m sober, with a degree and have taken out my piercings.

I could totally relate to a lot of Mia’s background and felt inspired by her courage and determination. Mia Michaels is an American choreographer, best known for her Emmy Award-winning appearances on So You Think You Can Dance and for her creation of the choreography for Broadways Finding Neverland. Mia’s students, peers & mentors have noted her as a dedicated, live-changing influence of positivity in their lives. Mia has a way of touching each human she encounters with passion, emotional expression, and confidence of self-love.

As with any success story, Mia had to work extremely hard from the very beginning. Her book describes her unconventional background, her numerous knock-backs in the ballet world and her pure determination to live her life to the fullest. Her story is brave and fearless. She embraces her inner misfit and uses it to her advantage to empower others into to being themselves through teaching dance.

There are twelve chapters in the book to guide and encourage you to embrace more of your unicornness. Mia writes about her experiences with isolation, loneliness, bullying and coming out the other side a stronger person. She writes about building up resilience, being brave and stepping outside of your comfort zone. At the centre of each chapter, the core message is about overcoming fear and learning to be proud of your unique and wonderful self.

The book packed with inspirational quotes and interesting stories from her experiences with other unicorns (including celebrities like Lady Gaga, Prince, Freddie Mercury and Elton John). It’s fun and interactive and above all will inspire you to turn negatives into positives and never give up chasing your dreams (even if they are unconventional and different). Thank you Mia for the boost of confidence and positivity! I know I’ll turn to this book time and time again when I’m looking for a quick pick me up to reassure myself it’s okay to be yourself and step away from the mainstream.

Click here to order yourself a copy of this awesome book!  A Unicorn In A World Of Donkeys by Mia Michaels.

ARE YOU FOLLOWING ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA?

TWITTER ♥ INSTAGRAM ♥ BLOGLOVIN’ ♥ PINTEREST ♥ ETSY SHOP

*This is a sponsored post which means I received a product/payment in exchange for an honest review. All views are my own. 

Follow:
Share:

76 Comments

  1. May 4, 2018 / 7:25 am

    This sounds like a fabulous read, anything that urges you to be yourself and comfortable with who you are is good with me. There’s so much pressure to confirm it’s great to see someone advocating confidence and positivity about being yourself. I will be checking this book out for sure. Thanks for sharing great post 😃

    Melanie | http://www.frasersfunhouse.com

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 4, 2018 / 5:33 pm

      Thanks so much for reading Melanie! 💖 It’s such a positive and inspiring book. It’s always a good reminder to be yourself. Hope you enjoy this if you check it out 😘 xx

  2. May 4, 2018 / 8:11 am

    Love finding new books to read! Sounds a really easy read too and one you can just put down and pick up again. I’m probably inbetween! xx

    Rebecca | http://www.rebeccasreviews.com

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 7:42 am

      Thanks Rebecca! 💖 It’s definitely a good one to dip in and out of. Glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  3. Shaun
    May 4, 2018 / 3:36 pm

    This sounds like a really interesting book 😄. I like the idea of a unicorn being somebody who stands out in their originality ☺️. It’s great that Mia encourages people to be brave and positive about being themselves 👍. A brilliant post Bexa 😄😍💖😘 xxxx

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 7:43 am

      Thanks Shaun! 💖 It’s such a positive book, very encouraging with a great message ☺️. Glad you enjoyed the review 😍😘☺️ xxxx

  4. May 4, 2018 / 5:10 pm

    A book that looks that cute would soon go in my basket haah! Sounds like such a positive little book x

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 7:44 am

      Thanks Ellie! 💖 It’s well worth a read and such a cool cover too 😍 xx

  5. May 4, 2018 / 7:04 pm

    This sounds like such a sweet book and I can totally relate with the whole unicorn thing haha (and having coloured hair and piercings like you!). I love how she’s made the comparisons on trend and the cover of the book is so cute too! I would definitely love to pick this one up and give it a read, how lovely. Great post as always Bexa!
    Alice Xx

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:30 pm

      Thanks so much Alice! 💖 It’s such an inspirational read, I’m glad you liked the post ☺️. The cover is really awesome too 😍 xx

  6. May 4, 2018 / 7:06 pm

    Aww, that book sounds so great. Its got such a great message behind it! It’s hard to say where I think I would be as I’m quite shy myself and don’t want to stand out too much haha, but I love being creative and all. Especially with the nail art! 😊

    Amy,
    https://creativenails.uk

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:32 pm

      Thanks so much Amy! 💖 You are definitely creative and talented, your nail art always amazes me 😍. We do sound very similar! xx

  7. May 4, 2018 / 7:10 pm

    Oh my gosh!! SOLD!!! I love unicorns and need this in my life! xo

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:32 pm

      It’s a brilliant book, glad you liked the review Lozza! 💖 xx

  8. May 4, 2018 / 7:10 pm

    Wow this sounds amazing. It sounds like an awesome message but just the fact it has unicorns is enough for me x

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:38 pm

      Thanks Katie! 💖 Yay! I’d definitely recommend, unicorns and positivity 😘 xx

  9. May 4, 2018 / 7:13 pm

    This sounds like a book I would bloody love, and one that I really need in my life at the moment – I am always here for an inspirational quote or two to get me through a bad day.. 🙊

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:39 pm

      Aw yay, it’s such a great read full of inspiration and positivity 💖. I’d definitely recommend. Thanks so much for the comment lovely 😘 xx

  10. May 4, 2018 / 7:37 pm

    I love the concept of this book + I’m really into reading lately so I might have to add this one to my to-do list

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:40 pm

      Aw yay! I’d definitely recommend! Thanks for commenting Jessica 💖 xx

  11. May 4, 2018 / 7:37 pm

    This book actually sounds amazing! I must say sometimes I fit into the donkey category but I’d love to be able to bring out my inner uniforn! Will have to give this book a read! X

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 4:56 pm

      Thanks Aaliyah! 💖 It’s a really good book, glad you enjoyed the review! 😘 xx

  12. May 4, 2018 / 7:39 pm

    Wow..it’s tough to remain a unicorn amid societal conventions and peer pressure. This looks like a book to keep me motivated to stay the way as I’m. 😊

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:01 pm

      Yay! It’s such a great book with a fantastic message! Thanks for reading and commenting 💖 xx

  13. May 4, 2018 / 7:53 pm

    Sounds like a good book and provides a lot of support for personal growth and individuality. I like it!

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks Alice! 💖 It’s a very positive read, glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  14. May 4, 2018 / 8:17 pm

    I can hardly wait to read this!! I love the whole concept and who doesn’t love unicorns?! 🦄🦄🦄 I am motivated to read it. Thanks for reviewing it and sharing your insight.

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:23 pm

      Aw thanks so much Sarah! 💖 It’s a great read, I hope you enjoy if you read it 😘 xx

  15. May 4, 2018 / 8:23 pm

    This sounds such a good and interesting book, I’m definitely going to have to check this out! I love the idea of this book! X

    Ashleigh | http://ashleighwrites.co.uk

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:23 pm

      Thanks Ashleigh! 💖 It’s such a positive read, I’m glad you liked the review 😘 xx

  16. May 4, 2018 / 8:48 pm

    I love the title of the book & it sound empowering & motivating. It’s a really positive message to get out there to people to be themselves & embrace it. Great review x

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:24 pm

      Thanks Leann! 💖 It’s definitely empowering and motivational 😍. I’m glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  17. Dani
    May 4, 2018 / 10:57 pm

    Hello bexa, love what you did with your blog. The theme is amazing! I would identify myself as the unicorn as well, I don’t really follow any latest trend now in any shape or form. Honestly your review of this book made me want to buy and start reading again x

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:25 pm

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment Dani 💖. That’s so sweet of you 😘. I’m glad the review has inspired you to start reading again, yay! xx

  18. May 5, 2018 / 12:04 am

    This sounds like my kind of book for sure, you had me hooked right at the beginning. I think on the unicorn-donkey spectrum I’m somewhere near the centre leaning ever so slightly towards the unicorn. Love those metaphors too. What a great book to be sent. Need to get my hands on one ASAP x

    Sophie
    http://www.glowsteady.co.uk

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:33 pm

      Thanks Sophie! 💖 The metaphors are great aren’t they 😄. I’m glad you enjoyed the review and hope you like the book 😘 xx

  19. May 5, 2018 / 12:58 am

    This sounds like a book I could really get into! The book cover is so adorably cute as well. And I totally understand, being yourself definitely goes such a long way!

    cabin twenty-four

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:34 pm

      Thanks Eena! 💖 It’s a really good message and the cover is awesome isn’t it 😍. Glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  20. May 5, 2018 / 3:15 am

    Bexa, I love how you’re always finding these cute things to review! It’s pretty cool that this book is more than just sparkles – it helps empower readers :). I didn’t know a donkey can be referenced like that, it makes total sense! It’s so important to step out of your comfort zone. You might discover something new you enjoy! Thanks for sharing your thoughts :).

    exquisitely.me

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:40 pm

      Aw thank you so much Nancy! 💖 I would definitely recommend, it’s such an empowering book! I agree, stepping out of our comfort zone helps us discover new hobbies and interests 😍. Glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  21. May 5, 2018 / 8:51 am

    This seems to be a good pick from the synopsis given by you 😊
    Would definitely give it a read 💖

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:42 pm

      Aw thank you so much! 💖 Glad you liked the review 😘 xx

  22. May 5, 2018 / 10:00 am

    I definitely want to be more unicorn like. I didn’t really do social media until about a year ago. Now I have my blog and spend a lot of time trawling the socials, it’s so easy to get away from the initial impetus, which is to get a better understanding of what I like and who I am. It’s so easy to chase the insta dream by following others but I’ve quickly realised doing me is not only better for my sanity, but I might just inspire another oddball like myself. No donkeys around here! Thanks for sharing.

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 5:48 pm

      Thanks so much for your lovely thoughtful comment 💖. Insta can be so bad for comparing ourselves to others. That’s awesome you are doing your own thing, go you! 😘 xx

  23. May 5, 2018 / 6:48 pm

    LOVE IT!! It looks super pretty and I bet would make a great birthday present. I love books with inspirational quotes.

    Katie xx
    http://www.amikatie.com

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 5, 2018 / 7:34 pm

      Thanks Katie! 💖 It would definitely make a great gift and the quotes are really uplifting 😍 xx

  24. May 5, 2018 / 8:10 pm

    Aw this books sounds wonderful, such a lovely message behind it too. You’ve done a great job writing a review about it Bexa! xx
    Alys
    https://alysjournals.com

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 5:09 pm

      Aw thanks so much Alys! 💖 That’s so lovely of you to say, I’m glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  25. May 6, 2018 / 8:14 am

    Wow this book is pretty awesome!!
    I think I’m a mix between a donkey and a unicorn! I would love to be a full unicorn though…hahaha I didn’t think I would ever say that sentence!!

    Kelly

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 5:16 pm

      Aw thanks so much Kelly! 💖 He he, being full unicorn sounds like the dream, this book is really encouraging 😘 xx

  26. May 6, 2018 / 8:45 am

    This sounds like a very interesting read! love the concept of it. I love all things unicorn so need to add this book to my collection.

    Moonlight Mel

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 5:26 pm

      Thanks so much Melissa! 💖 It’s a great one to add to the collection! Glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  27. May 6, 2018 / 9:34 am

    This really sounds like my kind of book. I always think that people who can write something like this have true courage.
    It is so important that people do this for the misfits out there. Embracing your own unique style and being comfortable with who you are, who doesn’t want that? I’m not that one color, I am many. That’s the rainbow in me and my blog 🙂
    Great review! I will consider buying this even. 🙂 Sounds like a must read

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 5:41 pm

      Thank you so much for your lovely thoughtful comment Rose 💖. I agree, it’s so important to have our own unique style. I love that you describe yourself as a rainbow 😘 xx

  28. May 6, 2018 / 10:37 am

    Oohh…I might have been half donkey half unicorn at one time or another. Never all the way donkey or unicorn. Pretty interesting read. I want to find out more about this book. Thanks for the review!

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 5:55 pm

      Thanks so much Myrth 💖 Glad you enjoyed the book, I’d definitely recommend 😘 xx

  29. Sakhile
    May 6, 2018 / 11:22 am

    This sounds like an awesome inspirational book. Great review

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 6:02 pm

      Thanks so much Sakhile 💖 xx

  30. May 6, 2018 / 11:54 am

    I seriously need this book in my life, thanks for the post bub 😘

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 6:03 pm

      Aw thank you so much Lis 💖 xx

  31. May 6, 2018 / 12:15 pm

    This sounds really interesting! I used to love her choreography on so you think you can dance and now that I know she has a book with such a great message I will have to look into getting it for sure!

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 6:14 pm

      Aw thank you so much Kristin 💖. I’m glad you enjoyed the review, hope you like the book too! 😘 xx

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      Aw thank you so much Em! 💖 Glad you enjoyed the review 😘 xx

  32. May 6, 2018 / 3:49 pm

    This book sounds pretty awesome, I love the reference to unicorn because we all know how unique and special unicorn is. And you’ve written such an awesome review for it as well! You made me want to buy it now, aha! xx Ain

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 6, 2018 / 6:31 pm

      Aw thanks so much for your lovely comment Ain 💖. I’m glad you enjoyed the review and hope you like the book 😘 xx

  33. May 6, 2018 / 7:14 pm

    I’m not usually the type of person to read self help (or other genres of the like) books, but this one actually seems like one I would want to take a look at! I also love that it was written by someone that dances and choreographed one of my favorite plays! Thank you for your review, as it was very thorough!

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 8, 2018 / 5:07 pm

      Thanks so much Kacie! 💖 I’m glad you enjoyed the review and hope you like the book if you read it 😘 xx

  34. May 6, 2018 / 9:00 pm

    I love books like this! “self-help” books are so great to read and the cover looks so pretty! I have had a look on amazon aswell it is a decent price! Deffo going to put it in my wish list! Great photography as always!! x

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 8, 2018 / 5:19 pm

      Yay! 💖 That’s awesome its gone on your wish list Sharnah! That’s so cool, I’m glad you enjoyed the review and hope you like the book if you read it 😘 xx

  35. May 7, 2018 / 12:50 am

    Aw what a sweet message. <3 I had no idea she had written a book! I would definitely love to read it now! Lovely post 🙂 🙂

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 8, 2018 / 5:19 pm

      Aw thanks so much Sarah! 💖 It’s a very positive and uplifting book, hope you enjoy if you read it 😘 xx

  36. May 8, 2018 / 8:53 am

    This book sounds so inspirational and interesting. I am mostly into fiction but reading your review I will definitely check this book out. Sometimes we go through a phase where these kind of books motivate and inspire you to keep going. Great post Bexa. 🙂

    Via | http://glossnglitters.com

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 8, 2018 / 5:55 pm

      Aw thank you so much Via! 💖 I’m so glad you enjoyed the review and hope you like the book if you read it. You always leave such lovely comments 😘 xx

  37. May 9, 2018 / 5:54 am

    I love the design of the book ( yes I am one of those people 😂 who tends to try a book if it looks pretty ) but the content sounds amazing and definitely sounds like a good read! I will be definitely looking into this purchase!

    Thanks for sharing lovely! Great post 😘💕

    • Bexa
      Author
      May 10, 2018 / 1:26 pm

      He he, I’m exactly the same! 😂 I’m always interested in a book if it’s got a pretty cover! Yay, I’m so glad you enjoyed the review and thanks for the comment lovely 😘🌷 xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *